• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Bear and pork butt Breakfast sausage. Can I smoke it?

Started by Patsplace, February 26, 2011, 04:37:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Patsplace

Howdy folks,
I've got about a hundred breakfast sausages that taste great when smoked. I did three yesterday and then finished them off in the frying pan and they were delicious. After reading a fair bit, I'm wondering whether what I did is kind of dangerous. I smoked them at 150 for an hour and a half and then kicked the temp up to 175 fir another hour and they were done. I didn't use the internal meat temp. probe on these three as they were going to be eaten right away.

Is this about the right way to do it with a non-cured sausage?

Thanks,

Pat the new guy on the block.
I feel much better since I started smoking.

EZ Smoker

I'm no expert, but I do cold smoke uncured meat, so let's see... uncured sausage comes out of the fridge and into the smoker at 150/175 for 2.5 hours, then finished off in a hot frying pan.   

Okay, the question is whether they were in the danger zone too long before they hit the frying pan.   I'd say that it's okay because you fried them up immediately.  If you left them in that temp for 2.5 hours, then put them in the fridge to fry the next day, that might be a problem because bacteria would have time to spread.   

Still, probably best to wait on a smarter member to pop in and answer more wisely. 
It may seem like I'm rubbing salt in the wound, but the truth is I'm trying to cure it.

Patsplace

Thanks,
What my plans are is to smoke the sausage and as soon as it's cool enough to vacuum pack it and freeze them up, two at a time. They will spend their life frozen until thawed and then fried. The smoke makes such a nice difference.

Pat

classicrockgriller

With out cure in the sausage with that low of cooking temps for that

long of a time and then back into the freezer ............. sounds like a