Making Suasage

Started by Wizzy, April 10, 2011, 08:03:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wizzy

This is my first time making sausage in an electric smoker.  Normally I have a briquette smoker.  The problen I am having is that when I put the rings into the smoker they seem to turn white.  I think I am steaming them.  I have followed the recipe and am using the recommended temperatue and time.  I tried three different batches today and they all turned out the same.  I tried different temps, times amount of smoke.  The sausage I am making is a jalapeno and cheese with various spices.  Meat is venison and pork 70/30.  I am also using Number one cure.  Also I ground spiced and stuffed the meat and let sit for 16-18 hours before smoking.  If anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated.  

Also on another note my jerky seems to turn out the same kind of a grey dingy color.

Thank You

Ryan

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: Wizzy on April 10, 2011, 08:03:02 PM
This is my first time making sausage in an electric smoker.  Normally I have a briquette smoker.  The problen I am having is that when I put the rings into the smoker they seem to turn white.  I think I am steaming them.  I have followed the recipe and am using the recommended temperatue and time.  I tried three different batches today and they all turned out the same.  I tried different temps, times amount of smoke.  The sausage I am making is a jalapeno and cheese with various spices.  Meat is venison and pork 70/30.  I am also using Number one cure.  Also I ground spiced and stuffed the meat and let sit for 16-18 hours before smoking.  If anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated.  

Also on another note my jerky seems to turn out the same kind of a grey dingy color.

Thank You

Ryan

How much salt.
Are you adding citric acid
Starting temp/ending temp

Wizzy

Starting temp was on the first run 150 finished at 170.  Salt is 15 tsps and 3 of cure # 1.