PID And BDS

Started by cjj, July 01, 2011, 01:15:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cjj

Hello I am new to all this  and I  need a little help hooking up my PID . Do you plug the smoke Generator  into the PID or do you Plug it  directly to a wall outlet  I have read on another site that you plug it into the PID and the  Instruction manual said to plug it into an outlet . thanks

RSilva

The instructions are correct.  With the digital, it is best to plug the PID and smoke gen into wall outlets.  You won't use the short cord that came with the BDS that jumps from the smoke gen to the cabinet heating element.  You need a computer power cord to jump from the PID to the cabinet

You will attach the temp probe from the cabinet to the smoke gen so you don't get an error message and it gives you a temp reading from a separate location in the cabinet.

As the instructions show, if you have an original smoker, then you would plug the generator into the PID.

cjj

Thanks  I do have the  probe from the cabinet to the smoke generator  Thanks  Again

Sydney Smoker

Sorry if I'm missing the point, but if you plug the smoke generator into the PID won't the timing and smoking be screwed up?

I have an OBS and am using a Sous Vide Magic PID (which is similar to Auber).  I plug the smoke generator and the PID into the power and the cabinet into the PID.

This way I'm controlling the heating element with the PID without messing up the 20 minute cycle on the generator or reducing the heat under the bisquette so the smoke stops.

The way these PID devices work is to turn the power on and off to maintain a temperature.  If the generator is turned on and off all the time smoking could be stopped completely (especially if you are trying for low temp smoking), and the 20 minute puck timer would not be accurate either.

Am I on the right track?

If not can someone explain why?

Thanks,

Peter.

Habanero Smoker

Hi Sydney Smoker;
Welcome to the forum.