NEWBIE In search for some friendly advice

Started by Consooger, February 17, 2012, 03:26:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Consooger

NEWBIE here, heard amazing things about this forum and was looking for advice. I decided to go to Cabela's and I bought a Bradley Digital 6 rack for about $300 unused. Looking at getting into smoking since I was spending tons of money on jerky and various other smoked meats and fish. I have been on this forum gathering tons of useful information but I want to make sure I get all my facts straight before getting really into this and I also don't want to make anyone sick in the process.

I plan on making jerky, ribs, brisket, turkey, fish etc in this thing and I was reading about curing the beef with jerky, do I need to cure all meats like I would for jerky or just jerky. If that's the case where is the best place to buy cure #1? I saw people talking about Cabela's but I only saw pre-seasoned packs that have cure in them. I also saw some pink dyed beef cure on Amazon, would this be a safe avenue to go?

With tmaking the jerky what is the best practice? I plan on smoking it and would like some flavorful smoke and I know it's not going to be perfect since this is a long hard road with ocntinual progress, I just want to get started on the right foot.

All the help is appreciated and look forward in sharing many many stories with the new Bradley Family!

- Consooger
"Telling you to invest in smoking your own jerky because buying it so much was getting way too expensive was the worst thing I could have ever done to us, now look at the monster I have created!" :-)
               -My Wife

Fernslinger

I think it depends on how you plan on making your jerky. If you are going to smoke it and finish in a dehydrator then maybe you will want a cure?