Questions for Pachanga

Started by Robert Rose, December 15, 2012, 01:47:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Robert Rose

I read the post the other day for your Brisket Rub and it sounds real good and plan to try one your way soon. I am no culinary master by any means and some of the ingredients in the rub are not familiar to me and I haven't been able to find them. First is the ground bay leaves. Do they sell them already ground or do you grind them your self? If you grind them how do you do it or what do you use? Next is Ground savory. Can't find it anywhere here, does it have another name it may go by? Also can't find white pepper. I am planning to use sea salt for the tender Quick.
I'm a rookie at this cooking game and don't very good imagination when it comes to cooking, but I do like to eat. My brother has a brisket rub that we use now and I wanted to compare your to see which I like best, expecting that yours is going to be the winner though.

Thanks
Robert Rose
Robert Rose
Director Region 3
Texas Association of Bass Clubs
CoCoRaHS Volunteer TX-ER-4

GusRobin

What do you plan on doing with this brisket? The reason I ask is because Tender Quick is usually used for curing/brining meat for pastrami or bacon. I don't believe it is a 1 to 1 replacement with salt. If you are just making a smoked brisket you don't need cure.

Where do yo live? most of those are common spices in the "McCormick" section of the spice section in the local supermarket.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

Ka Honu

Pachanga is the brisket master but until he gets here you get to listen to us acolytes.