venting question

Started by jwilson, January 30, 2013, 10:49:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jwilson

Perusing thru all of the questions and answers given on this forum (great by the way)....those of you who put the OBS in your garage seem to always rig up some venting to the outside.  The OBS is my 2nd electric smoker and I haven't used it yet but I've been using my other electric smoker in the garage for a couple of years now and I just let it vent into the garage - door is cracked open so I don't get alot of smoke hanging around in there...all I get is the great smell of smoking meat.  Am I missing something?

buttburner

Quote from: jwilson on January 30, 2013, 10:49:57 AM
Perusing thru all of the questions and answers given on this forum (great by the way)....those of you who put the OBS in your garage seem to always rig up some venting to the outside.  The OBS is my 2nd electric smoker and I haven't used it yet but I've been using my other electric smoker in the garage for a couple of years now and I just let it vent into the garage - door is cracked open so I don't get alot of smoke hanging around in there...all I get is the great smell of smoking meat.  Am I missing something?

thats all I have ever done. I open the back garage door and the big door

I dont see any reason to cut holes in my garage for a vent.

BAM1

I vented mine.  The whole reason for me smoking in the garage is to stay out of the cold so I don't want my doors open.  Plus, my farage is heated and I don't want to let the heat out.
Pork Stars KCBS BBQ Team
Bradley digital 6 rack w/Auber PID/900w mod
Bradley counter top two rack
Traeger Texas model w/Savannah Stoker
2 Weber Performer charcoal grills
Charbroil SRG
Backwoods Fatboy
KCBS CBJ

OU812

Quote from: BAM1 on January 30, 2013, 11:30:39 AM
I vented mine.  The whole reason for me smoking in the garage is to stay out of the cold so I don't want my doors open.  Plus, my farage is heated and I don't want to let the heat out.

Ditto