Does smoking help the meat last longer?

Started by tsuri, April 21, 2013, 02:21:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tsuri

Hi everyone, I'm totally new to this.
I noticed that a lot of people mention "loading up" their smoker.  I'm a family of 4 with 2 small kids, so I'm worried that I'd be making too much food if i "loaded" it up.  Does smoking allow the food to last longer than simply BBQing or baking?
thanks
T

devo

Simple answer no, hard and drawn out answer with out reading the sausage making bible to you kinda of. Depends on what your doing with it.

GusRobin

Many of the things they load up with freeze well. Pulled pork butt, briskets, sausage - all freeze well. Cheese properly wrapped can last a long time in the fridge. (don't freeze cheese)
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

beefmann

I generally do 15 lbs od Canadian bacon, 14 to 30 lbs of pastrami at once in my  4 rack,,, slice it up, vac seal it and freeze it and  use as i need... 

FLBentRider

Smoke does have some preservative properties, but only on the outside of the meat.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

devo