Cooking a Pork Side

Started by Install4u, May 06, 2006, 09:06:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Install4u

Hello all, I am very new at cooking with a smoker and I have a few questions for some of you guys.  I am cooking a Pork Side right now and I wanted to know how long should I cook this thing.  I had to cut it in half to fit it in the smoker and it is about 10 lbs.  Also what is the deal with flopping meat over.  I have not read anything about doing this.  Now this piece has the skin on it so I did flip it after it has been in there for 3 hours.  Is this right?  I plan on cooking it for around 8 hours and the only thing that I know to do is to keep checking it until the internal temp is about 180.  I would love to hear some commits on this.  One more thing the door temp reads 225 I have read not to trust this so how are you getting your temps right?  Using another gauge on the vent is just getting the top rack temp is this better?

Thanks,
Russell

tsquared

The way most people handle temperature is to buy a dual probe thermometer with a remote readout. The Maverick 73 is popular and works well. One probe is for box temp, hung underneath one of the racks and the other is placed into the thickest part of the meat. I would back off on the box temp if I were you, down to about 210 or so.
T2

Install4u