New to Bradley (almost): need some starter help

Started by TNT69, October 08, 2013, 02:53:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TNT69

I've been using a "little chief" smoker for a few years to make an occasional load of beef jerky.  I'm pretty happy with the jerky when it comes out but it takes about 13 hrs of babysitting to get the job done.  Looking for something a little more automated.

I'm looking to get more into smoking (ham, turkey, jerky, maybe sausage, cheese, nuts, etc.) and have been looking into many options and leaning heavily toward the Original Bradley smoker but I have a few lingering questions before I pull the trigger on the purchase.

After doing a lot of search on this website, I think I have made the following choices but am interested in any feedback.
Original vs. Digital: I am leaning toward the original because I think I am going to get a PID anyway for the consistent temps.  Cabela's is running a sale for OBS for $299 right now.

My first question is which PID?  I've read the page on here about building your own in a project box (or in the smoke house) but I'm curious if it has all the functionality of the $185 dual probe design that Auber makes (plug and play version).  I like the idea of controlling the smoke on and off, controlling the heat by time or internal meat temp so a dual probe is the way to go.

I am mechanically inclined and like to tinker with things but I need to know that the 1/16 DIN PID Temperature Controller (Relay Output) also by Auber can do all the things of its more expensive cousin.  The lazy part of me wants to just buy it and not have to deal with the heatsink/no heatsink, fuse/ no fuse, etc., etc. of building my own.