First attempt at deer sausage

Started by MrSlick, April 04, 2014, 10:56:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MrSlick

Well I finally got all the parts together and made my first attempt at making deer sausage.  I decided to keep the batch small since I am just learning how to do this.  I started with 3 pounds of ground venison and 2 pounds of ground pork and  premade seasoning.   

The stuffing process is something that I need more practice on but it wasn't too difficult. 

I went with 4 hours of hickory then finished in a water bath.  Other then needing more practice stuffing it all turned out good and I'll be making more.  It definitely goes good with smoked pepper jack cheese and an Alaskan Amber!

Smoker John

Bradley Digital 4 Rack
Bradley BS712

rajzer

Excellent first effort!  Which seasoning mix did you use?

pensrock

Looks good, if you feel it was too dry increase the pork butt to 50%. When we do venison sausage we always go 50-50 and it is great.

tailfeathers

Quote from: pensrock on April 04, 2014, 01:31:18 PM
Looks good, if you feel it was too dry increase the pork butt to 50%. When we do venison sausage we always go 50-50 and it is great.
Not only that, but it will make your venison go farther as well.
Where there's smoke, there's HAPPINESS!!!

SiFumar

Saber 4

Welcome to the Dark Side, your sausage looks tasty and well done, it only gets better with time so you're off to a great start.

cobra6223

ragweed

Looks more like batch #25.  Well done.

MrSlick

Thanks everyone,

The seasoning is called Signature Smoked Kielbasa from Walton's Inc and the bag has Excalibur logos on it. 
http://www.waltonsinc.com/p-2374-signature-smoked-kielbasa.aspx
I hope to figure out the correct blend that will match the deer sausage I used to have made when I lived in Austin.

I will probably go 50%-50% on the next batch just to see how it turns out. 

Saber 4