Inedible brisket

Started by rligeti, September 22, 2014, 12:10:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rligeti

Hi Gang,

this is my first post here. I tried a 12 hour brisket yesterday and it came out TOTALLY inedible. The flavor wasn't bad, but the meat was sooo tough I had to apologize to my family for attempting to serve them something that may cause dental trauma...

I ran it at 200 deg for almost 14 hours and it was a 5 lb brisket. I got the time and temp online from reading several recipes. I think also, it may not have been the right cut. I've never tried a brisket before and my wife bought what I think is referred to as the flat part of the brisket.

If anyone would care to share a SUCCESSFUL brisket experience, i'd love to hear it!

Thanks!
Rob

Ka Honu

I don't cook flats much but it sounds like you just dried it out - probably would have been better cooking for about half that time. You can't cook briskets or pork butts/shoulders (or most big chunks of meat) by time; you have to go by internal temperature. Go to the beef section of the site recipe forum and read the brisket posts. Then get a thermometer and give it another shot. Pachanga will set you straight.

beefmann

Hi Rob ,

Welcome aboard, I can  see a  few   mistakes that you  may  have  made, Hopefully  we can  get  it  cleared up

1) you  indicate  you ran it at 200, Im  going to assume that the  smoker Temp was at  200F if  so  it was a bit low, your  smoker box  temp should been at  225 F or  so,

2) apply smoke for  no  more then 4 hours  of  smoke,,,  start  with  two  hours and add or  subtract for   smoke flavour

3) never  smoke /  cook in your  smoker  by  time..  go by  internal temperature of the  meat... if you  wanted  pulled brisket you are  looking at  195 - 205 F and  when it is done  it is some