New Smoker in Australia - Temp Control

Started by Mayweather, January 13, 2015, 03:31:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mayweather

Hi all,

I am brand new to smoking and just invested in the Bradley 4 Rack Digital. I have read some of the Amazon reviews and people have said this unit is poor at maintaining temperature accurately and someone suggested and Auberin PID controller or something. I believe the smoker plugs into this unit. Given i am in Australia and we have different 240V plugs here can i still use the PID or am i at a loss here?

Also which is the correct PID to purchase assuming i can use it here in Australia. Is the temp control on the Bradley Digital really that bad?

TedEbear

Hello and welcome aboard.  The plug-n-play controllers say this as far as the voltage rating:  100 to 240 VAC 50 /60 Hz

You should be OK.

There is the single probe Model: WS-1210GPH or the dual probe Model: WSD-1200GPH.

As far as the temps swings, they say a regular house oven has temps swings similar to the Bradley but people don't notice it because they usually do not monitor it as closely.  For smoking most things you don't need a tight temp control but people like the accuracy of a PID controller and so they buy one. 

tskeeter

I'm with Ted.  Although the Bradley is subject to significant temperature swings, for many things, the temperature swings aren't a big deal.  I don't think I'd worry about a PID unless I was planning on smoking sausage or fish, where making sure the temperature doesn't exceed your set point is important to a quality product.

Mayweather

Thanks for the information all. Fish may be something i wish to smoke in the near future. Given that the device is rated for Australian standards, can i not just use a travel adapter so i can plug this into a socket in Australia?