HELP bad element?

Started by browning92, October 15, 2015, 04:07:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

browning92

So i have been using my smoker for maybe 3 years now and have had many successful smokes but while doing some ribs this weekend it seemed as if it took abnormally long for the temp to come back up after I put the ribs in. now for the details i had it preheated to 230 prior to putting a single rack of ribs in. after putting the ribs in i opened the vent most of the way and the temp dropped to around 130 ish and took almost 3 hrs to reach 230/240  the ambient temp was around 55 degrees F with a very slight breeze.   is normal? or is my heating element going bad?

Thanks in advance!!!

Habanero Smoker

That recovery time for such a light load is not normal. If your cabinet eventually reached a high temperature after 3 hours, it would not be your heating element that caused the problem.

Is there anything you did differently this time that you didn't do in the past; such as not letting the ribs sit in room temperature for an hour or two prior to placing them in the smoker? Positioning a temperature probe in a different location?

There are times when opening the vent too much, can also bring your cabinet temperature down; especially with small loads that will not produce a lot of moisture in the cabinet. In this case maybe opening it too wide, you are allowing too much heat to escape, when a smaller opening will allow enough moisture to escape, and retain more heat. It is easy enough to test. If this happens the next time you smoke, try closing the vent a little bit. If you see the temperature begin to improve, close it a little more, until you my notice a decline in temperature; I generally will not close my vent to more than half closed.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

browning92