Tips....

Started by jeffncris, February 01, 2016, 06:40:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jeffncris

Hi guys,
   I'm a newbie, and I'm looking for a set and forget rib recipe. i want to slap them in at lunch and than pull them off when I get home. One rack will be dry rub, the other with sauce. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
jeffncris

TedEbear

Did you read the replies to your other threads about the ribs?

jeffncris

I did actually, and thanks. They referred to the 3-2-1 method, I was looking for a set it and forget it method if there is one.

watchdog56

I just season ribs night before wrap in cello and put in frig. Next day take out of frig,under wrap and put in smoker at 225 with 2-3 hours of either apple or hickory smoke and take out when meat pulls back from bone at least 1/2 ". I usually turn ribs half way through smoke and rotate racks if I have more than one. If you won't be there to turn or rotate racks I would suggest either putting them on one of the top two racks.

Habanero Smoker

I don't believe there is a way to set and forget ribs in the Bradley, or even a charcoal/wood burner; and get decent ribs. If you are going to cook them naked (without foiling); About an hour prior to placing my ribs in my smoker, I usually apply either honey mustard or peanut oil to the ribs, just before applying my rub. When the surface of the ribs get "wet", I place them in 225°F preheated Bradley. You may want to preheat higher, to compensate for loss of heat while loading the Bradley, then cook at 225°F. As watchdog suggested, you should rotate the racks. With the Bradley and if doing baby backs, I will rotate every two hours, for the first four hours. After 4 hours; start checking for tenderness every 30 minutes. For spare ribs, I'll rotate the racks every two hours for the first six hours, then start checking for tenderness every 30 minute. I generally will apply 2 hours of pecan.