Newbie to Smoking, Hi from Eugene Oregon

Started by stratachalup, November 25, 2023, 09:42:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stratachalup

Hello!  My husband and I are newly retired to Eugene Oregon.   I asked for a Bradley Original 4-Rack (BS611) for my holiday present this year, and it arrived early!  I'm new to smoking, and not very experienced at outdoor cookery in general, but I've been reading a lot and watching a lot of YouTube vids.  We're mostly interested in smoking chicken/turkey and making our own smoked salmon, and even smoked cheese and tofu-- I'm an unrepentant carnivore but he doesn't eat beef or pork.

I unboxed the smoker last night and put a quartered half turkey in a big pot to brine.  My plan is to burn-off/season the smoker this afternoon and use that as a pre-heat to start smoking the turkey.  I'm a bit concerned about how cold the weather is today, though.  Woke up to a hard frost and 30F temps, and predicted high is only 44F.  The smoker will be on the back patio in a sheltered space.  Is it worth picking up a hot water heater insulating blanket and cutting it down to size for the smoker?  I'd be careful not to block any inlet vents, and of course leave the top clear.

I've read about folks converting the heating element to a 9000 watt, but I'm just getting started and want to understand what I'm doing a lot better before tackling any major modifications.

cheers, and happy smoke!
Strata

PS- does anyone else have to request a new verification image 3 or 4 times to get one that's legible?!

Habanero Smoker

Hi stratachalup,

Welcome to the forum. Image verification, I feel is the most frustrating forms of verification that you are not a bot. Fortunately, after you sign in for so many times, it will not ask for verification.

It's good that you are learning how the smoker functions, before deciding to make any modifications. Also modifications will void your one year warranty.