How not to do beef jerky....

Started by Michael, August 27, 2006, 12:23:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Michael

As you will soon realize, I'm new to smoking....  I did my first batch of jerky last night in the BS and made several mistakes.  It came out too dry and too salty.

The last time I made jerky was with my cheap Little Chief Smoker.  For that smoker I used the below marinade recipe and it took about 8 hours to be done and I only briefly dipped the meat into the marinade.   

My first mistake was not spending more time searching the forum on how to do jerky.....

I think my second mistake was the marinade or leaving the meat in the marinade for too long.  For 5 pounds of sliced beef I made up the following mix:
   1 cup of soy sauce
   3 tablespoons of lemon pepper
   2 tablespoons of garlic salt
   3 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce

I left the meat in the mix for about 20 minutes before racking it up.

I then smoked it for 2 hours with the temperature set at 210 degrees.  I think this part was okay....

Then I made mistake #3.  The jerky had been in the BS for 3 hours and I left the jerky cooking and took off with the wife to an outdoor concert and was gone for about 3 hours.  I was probably thinking about how long it took in the Little Chief smoker and thought I had plenty of time......

The net results are that my jerky was overcooked and salty, however, I learned of several things NOT to do...

Dougsts

Michael