I know ... not really a "new" topic ... Temperature Control for BS611 help?

Started by dstidham, June 08, 2021, 09:19:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dstidham

I am new to smoking overall, and my first smoker is the BS611.  I have done three cooks/smokes with it now, and it has been a challenge to control the temperature.  Today, I decided to check a few things out and believe I have a defective unit, but wanted to share my observations with the masses here for your seasoned feedback.

1) I appear to have incorrectly assumed that with the SMOKE switch OFF, I could get heat in the cabinet from the rheostat knob, as it has an off click, and should increase the voltage as the knob turns from low to high.  I see 0 volts coming from the pigtail (short power lead from the smoke generator to cabinet) unless the smoke switch is ON also.  Is this correct behavior?

2a) With the rheostat knob in the off position and the smoke switch ON, I have approximately 65 volts coming from the pigtail.  I assumed that with smoke switch ON, and rheostat OFF, I should have 0 volts on the pigtail.  Is this normal to have voltage ALWAYS going through the pigtail when the smoke switch is ON?

2b) With the smoke switch ON, and the rheostat turned on to low, the pigtail voltage drops to approximately 58 volts.  Is this normal?