Tempature Swings ???????

Started by Turkeyman, December 15, 2006, 05:25:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Turkeyman

How many degreeHow much of a temp swing do you guys have between the top and bottom rack. It seemed like before I switched my fan to ccw I was within 3 degrees between the top and bottom. Now it's about 7 degrees different.

Thanks,
Scott

West Coast Kansan

Well that depends, - dont hate me cause I really dont think there is a true answer - but I have messed around with this temperature thing a quite a bit on my digital 4r just because it gets so much press time.  The "it depends"  kind of goes like this from my experience (I have zero experience with fans so cant comment on those).

At the start, it is huge top to bottom

At the start the difference is bigger with a cold meat load

After a preheat the temp is minimal top to bottom- degree or two (except the back is warmer than the front)

After preheat and your meat goes in - even room temp meats, the difference top to bottom is reestablished 3-7 degrees. But "that depends" on what the meat is and how long you wait to take readings - the drop is almost immediate because you opened the door releasing warm air, the temp difference then reduces fairly quick. Quick "depends", butts will hold a lot of cold, ribs dont hold as much cold and niether does chicken BUT chicken holds lots of moisture that takes energy to warm up so I think it "depends". Also depends in a big way on time you wait between measurements.  Thin lean pieces give up cold and absorb heat faster so a lot depends on time for top to bottom differences. 

After the meat is in for about an hour the difference is about 3 degrees but the back is hotter.

After the meat is smoked about 4 hours the temp difference is minimal with a degree or two but the meat is still having a cooling effect - moisture content as well as a cool hunk of mass