Low sodium?

Started by patti2003, July 01, 2008, 06:31:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

patti2003

I am new to smoking and bought a smoker because I love smoked meats but don't want the sodium. Most of the recipes I see contain salt. Can I smoke turkey breasts, pork, etc. without salt?

THX!

Patti

KyNola

Absolutely you can.  Have seen lots of recipes for rubs, etc. without salt.  Do a little research, you'll find them.  One source is the Smoke & Spice book.  Tons of rub recipes in there and an all around great source of knowledge for all things smoked.

Welcome to the forum Patti.  Great bunch of folks here far smarter than me always willing to help you out.

KyNola

westexasmoker

Welcome Patti,
I completely agree with KyNola, lots of good rubs in the S&S book, and I don't see why ya could'nt leave out the salt and still have a great flavor!  Good Luck! Keep us posted!

C
Its amazing what one can accomplish when one doesn't know what one can't do!

Wildcat

Welcome to the forum.  I see no reason why you can't leave off the salt on any recipe except perhaps when curing.  I'm sure you can always go with salt substitutes as well.  Habs is the best for answering this question.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

iceman

Welcome Patti;
I agree that there is no reason that you can smoke without salt in most cases.
There is also a place called Pleasoning that sells low or no salt spices.
www.pleasoning.com

Habanero Smoker

Hi Patti;

Welcome to the forum.

You can leave the salt out of the rubs, but the salt acts as a flavor enhancer, so you may what to add some chili powder (hot ground pepper such as cayenne, not the chile powder mix) or if the recipe already has chili powder in it slightly increase the amount. Here is a site I use occasionally for salt and sugar substitutes.

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/50245/homemade_salt_substitutes_for_a_sodiumfree.html