PRIME RIB......any good suggestions

Started by walpick, June 25, 2007, 11:44:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

walpick

I have a DBS and BS and want to do a Prime Rib. My BS will not push pucks anymore so I bought the DBS.  I am in florida and wondered if the humidity got to something in the box.  I have been smoking for a few years and have alot of trials and ERRORS  (heavy on the errors)  If any of you have any suggestions it will be greatly appreciated.  Also I would like to learn more about the different pucks you guys talk about.  And also who sells the rubs you guys are using.

Thanks for the help.  This will be one of my new forums that I will love.

WalPick

Consiglieri

I've done prime rib in the Bradley with good results.  My only criticism is that you really can't get the crust in the smoker.  Here is the link for that project thread  (and comments from others eager to help):

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=4454.msg38899#msg38899
Consiglieri

walpick

Thank you so much for the info.  I am really having a blast with this.  I marinated my Prime with a recipe out of Smoke and Spice:

1 1/3 cups of red wine
1 1/3 cups red wine vinegar
1/3 cup olive oil
4 teaspoons  dried rosemary
4 garlic cloves minced
2 teaspoons dried thyme

it wil marinating all night and go in the smoker around 2:00pm

I will run it at full temp on my DBS and put 4 hours hickory on it.

Am i on the right page???

Consiglieri

Sounds delicious to me.  When/where's dinner?

At the end of my project, I was thinking that I should have pulled the meat from the smoker earlier and grilled or oven roasted at higher heat to finish and get that good crust. 
Consiglieri

chuck steak