Newbie- Need help smoking Brisket and Babybacks

Started by jimkelli, July 02, 2007, 09:57:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jimkelli

Hello All-
I am a newbie...just got my Bradley smoker a week ago.  I am ambitiously going to try and smoke out a 6lb brisket flat and 2 slabs of baby-backs for the 4th of July.  I am good on my rubs, I know exactly how I want them seasoned, but I am still new to the way this electric smoker works.  I have hickory and maple bisquettes, but how long should I cook everything?

I am planning on cooking around 200F, but how many bisquettes should I use?  How long should I be smoking?  I traditionally smoke a similar sized brisket on my charcoal smoker and that usually takes me a good 10-12 hours.  This Bradley is totally different though.  Do I only need to smoke the brisket for about 4 hours and then just let it cook a remaining 4 hours or so?  I plan on keeping the ribs in only for about 4+ hours.  Any help and information that anyone could provide would be helpful.  THANKS@!
Jim

kiyotei