temp slow to recover

Started by SmokinHotPapa, December 30, 2007, 01:05:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SmokinHotPapa

seem's like it takes the bds along time to recover after you open the door and load her up, do you guys have same problem?

Ontrack

Yeah, papa, that's pretty much the norm. The more or bigger pieces of meat you put in the longer it takes to recover. I had my 4 rack full of ribs yesterday and it took over an hour to come back up to my target temp. Some people will cover a rock or brick with aluminum foil and put it in the smoker to help recovery times, but I haven't tried it.

armpower

i am new at this, however i have read about putting a brick in the bottom to help maintan heat.   i have noticed with mine that the temp on the bds takes alot longer to come back than the temp on my maverick

so i have not worried to much about it.

hope that helps

good luck

SmokinHotPapa

any info much appreciated. I did crank the temp of the bds up and that did'ent make much diff either , I will  try a piece of fire brick thanx guys

KyNola

Papa,
You are absolutely correct.  It takes a long while for it to recover.  That's the nature of the beast.  As your meat comes up to temp, it won't take as long but in the early going, it is part of the deal.  Other than to refill the water pan as needed, try not to open the tower any longer than absolutely necessary.  Hang in there and don't panic or get discouraged.  Learning the quirks of the Bradley is part of the fun.

Keep rollin' smoke.
KyNola

SmokinHotPapa

I agree learing is everything, how often do you change water bowl?

Smoking Duck

I change it once, usually after the smoke is finished.  Other than that, no real need to change it.  It also helps if you put in the hottest water you can when changing.  This helps with the recovery time immensely, IMO.

Steeler....she's a keeper!

Who doesn't love lab puppies?

Click here for my blog: La Cosa Smokestra

SmokinHotPapa