• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Introduction: Soon to purchase OBS

Started by starship, February 13, 2009, 06:58:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

starship

;D  I just signed up on the forums, and will ordering my OBS tomorrow.  This forum had a lot to do with my decision.  Why the Bradley, I have been cooking at 225 on a high powered Ducane Gas Grill.  Stabilizing temp at 225 is a nightmare.  I spend more time in and out the door to adjust the flame, I almost don't want to do it.

The Bradley seems the answer to that.  I am already ordered the Auberon's PID controller. Going to wire it up my self. I am a Industrial Electrician by trade, and could automate this with an Allan Bradley SLC500, but a little overkill for a smoker!
Amazing Ribs
http://www.amazingribs.com/index.html

La Quinta

Well Starship....no matter how technical you get...welcome to the forum!!! You will find that the people on here are very interested in helping out....just who "we" are!!! Glad to have ya around...tell us how you make out!!!!  :)

Smokin Soon

Welcome to the forum, Starship. Ducane's are nice island grills for steaks, but thats about it. You can do some grand final crisping on things that you have smoked with it!

Caneyscud

Ditto on SS's comment about the Dukane.  Great machines, but as you found out almost impossible to Low and Slow on it.  Welcome, wade in and have fun.

Shakespeare
The Bard of Hot Aire
Threadkiller Extraordinaire'
"A man that won't sleep with his meat don't care about his barbecue" Caneyscud

"If we're not supposed to eat animals, how come they're made out of meat?"

FLBentRider

W E L C O M E  to the Forum starship!

Low and slow is what the OBS is good at.

Don't close the vent on the OBS...
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

Smoking Duck