Hot smoking using the cold smoke adaptor

Started by Jamesdw4, June 06, 2010, 08:54:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jamesdw4

With the bcold adaptor attached and the heating element active in the smoker tower, can you effectively hot smoke? Any pros or cons? I ask because I am tired of changing the configuration back and forth for hot or cold smoking . Also, would separating the smoke generator from the smoker tower reduce wear on the smoke generator(I read where some people had problems with the heating element in the smoker tower getting too hot and damaging the smoke generator)?

classicrockgriller

If you are asking if you can leave your smoke gen in the cold smoke adaptor and smoke/cook at say 225*.

Sure.

The one thing you do lose in the winter time cold the smoke gen burner if left on generates 125 watts of heat.

Not sure how much you save on wear on the gen.

Maybe someone will be along that knows.

Welcome to the Forum!

Quarlow

Now I am no expert so I am just going by what you'd figure but I can't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to leave it attached to the cold box. As Sonny said when it is cold out you would lose the extra heat the burner gives off but since you raised the question if you had the second heating element conversion you would have no problems that way. An advantage might be that to change the bowl of water for the pucks you wouldn't lose much heat out of the tower but you will still need a pan in the tower to catch the drips. I am glad you ask this as I am just designing my Bradley townhouse which will include space for the cold box and it would be good to not have to change back and forth. Welcome to the forum, glad to have you with us.
I like to walk threw life on the path of least resistance. But sometimes the path needs a good kick in the ass.

OBS
BBQ
One Big Easy, plus one in a box.

RAF128