Opinion about getting a custom heating element made

Started by sybercruzn, December 27, 2010, 03:17:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sybercruzn

Hello,
 Newbie here to the forums and was thinking of a quick solution for the heating element challenge. First, I have no electrical experience or know-how (just an over active imagination and curiosity that would kill plenty of cats) anyways....  I was looking at replacement elements for the BDS and got the notion that if it was a standard element it may have a brother out there in the 900w or 1000w plus range.  So after some googling (hehe) I did come across a site that makes custom quartz heating elements.  Here is a sampling of what I thought was interesting:

Depending on the design, our elements can reach full output in as little as 30 seconds and typically cool down to 50 percent output in under 15 seconds. The quartz element is ideal for applications where process  stoppages are anticipated or quick heat up or cool down is necessary. The elements can be turned off between production runs to save energy, and/or can have their output controlled with inexpensive controllers for precise control.

Performance Capabilities

* Standard watt densities up to 80 W/in of heated length (32W/cm), and up to 100 W/in by request*
   * Element temperatures up to 2000°F (1100°C)

First off....is this a BAD idea???  My porch and house are allergic to fire.  Am I correct in my thinking that these guys may be able to custom build a heating element to fit the BDS and make it around the 900w + range? ( thus, circumventing the whole custom second element or 900w replacement builds)   If so, what are the exact dimensions of the BDS 500w element?  What would be the ideal wattage of a custom element be without blowing the fuse or causing any other electrical havoc?