heater problems

Started by [email protected], September 15, 2010, 05:49:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

[email protected]

Hello, I'm new to this form. So if I don't do something correct..... please understand. My question is: I have had a 6 rack digital smoker for about 4 or 5 years now. I have never been able to get the temp up to the setting unless its 80 degrees outside. I have contacted Bradley before, they didn't seem concerned about it stating for me to remember I'm putting in cold meat. I disagree, it won't make temp even empty. I have tried wiping the probe off, no luck. Any thoughts?  Don

bears fan

what temp are you trying to get it to?

Quarlow

OK lets start with the basics. Is the heating element getting hot enough. It should glow red when hot, it won't be bright red but red just the same. If it is not getting red then try to plug the cord from the cabinet straight into a wall outlet and see if it gets red. If it does then plug it all in like it is supposed to be and try again and see what the difference is.
One thing to look at is power supply, if you are plugged into an outlet that has other things running on it you will not get enough juice threw to the smoker. Try to eliminate everything but the smoker from that circuit and if you are using an extension cord use a heavy one (12ga is best). Try those things and see what happens and let us know. If it doesn't help we can look at other things.
 As Bear mentioned you will only get at best 300f out of these, so if you are trying to get hotter than that it won't do it. You may be interested in adding a second heat element. It is a fairly simple mod that quite a few guys have done and I am considering also.
I like to walk threw life on the path of least resistance. But sometimes the path needs a good kick in the ass.

OBS
BBQ
One Big Easy, plus one in a box.

beefmann

you may also want to consider a 900 watt finned heater  mod.

here is the  link