Best way to do GB Jerky

Started by josbocc, October 22, 2011, 07:46:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

josbocc

Hey Everyone,

I do a lot of GB jerky every year (usually about 250 lbs. between hunting season and X-Mas).  I started with the Jerky Cannon (with two extra tubes), and then progressed to a LEM 5lb sausage stuffer that is hooked to a Dakotah Sausage jerky attachment.  I've looked at the LEM battery operated cannon and am not thrilled about the price (nor the reviews).  Now I see a lot of people talking about "Jerky Boards."

I'm a woodworker, and could easily knock out a board in a short period of time..., but I'd like everyone's opinion.  What is the easiest, quickest, and least messy way to get 15 lbs of GB into the smoker / dehydrator?

If you all would share your opinions, I would greatly appreciate it.

Jeff
The Wood Doesn't talk back
DBS6
Cabelas 80l Dehydator
All the Jerky Gadgets!!!

FLBentRider

Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

Mr Walleye

Josbocc

Like FLB mentioned, the jerky board would be real easy to make. I haven't tried it so I can't really comment on it but this would be my ideas of it. I would make the rails on the edge 3/16 on one side and 1/4 on the other. I would make the distance between the rails the same width as a standard roll of plastic food wrap. I would lay plastic food wrap in it, press the meat into place, cover with more plastic wrap and use a roller to flatten it out. next I would use a pizza cutter to make it into strips. I have thought about trying this but just haven't got around to it.

If you give this a shot let us know how it works out.