• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Food positioning

Started by cleanuphitter, February 05, 2005, 05:46:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cleanuphitter

Hi all!  Newbie here.  After purchasing a Bradley about 6 weeks ago and following these forum posts, I'm more than impressed with the product and the posters here on this site.  Everyone seems to be friendly and helpful.

On Super Bowl Sunday, I'm engaging in my most aggressive usage of the Bradley to date.  Over 27 lbs. of meats ranging from chiken breasts, tri-tip, a roast, and pork loin.  

My question is:  What is the best way to use the racks?  I'm thinking of putting the tri-tip on the top rack, chicken below that, then the pork, and the roast on the bottom.  Does it really matter, though?  My marinades are from the S&S book and vary by meats.  Off the top of my head, the chicken marinade is the only thing that is severely different from the others (it involves lemon juice).  Should I worry about flavors dripping onto others, or does it really matter when all is said and done?

One more question.  Due to the amount of meat involved here, should I anticipate longer cooking times that usual?  Would it be a lot?  

Thanks for all your help!

DC

tsquared

Welcome to the forum!
Sounds like a good Superbowl party! Bill and others with more experience will probably want to chime in here but a couple of things to keep in mind are with that much meat you want to make sure you take it out of the fridge for an hour to bring it up to room temp while your smoker is heating up. Otherwise it will struggle to get up to temp and extend your smoking time. The Bradley is hottest on the lowest rack, closest to the heat tube and it is also hotter closer to the back wall than the front. You might consider rotating your racks partway through your cooking time, top to bottom and turn the racks around as well. Let us know how it turns out.
Tom

Chez Bubba

DC,