• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

elk brisket

Started by axman, December 11, 2010, 09:51:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

axman

I'm kinda new to smoking world and still learning and have learn alot from this forum. and for that i say thank you.
The son in law and i just got a pen raise bull elk 4 years old that we're going to cut up to day. My question is about the brisket how to i smoke it, like a beef brisket? any information well be helpful.  as a side note i do have can get our hands and on pork, beef, venison and lamb. if the any out of the box thinking.
thanks ahead of think for any response 

axman

for got i have Bradley 4 shelf digital with a PID controller

axman

well we got the elk all cut up, finished around 9pm in a blizzard. We save a couple 12 lbs round roast to brine for hams and the approx 11 lbs brisket.  The whole elk was VERY beautiful look meat nice and tender looking, 
the brisket has nice marbling, i trimmed some of the extra fat, it about 2" thick and and around 18" sq  our intentions are to smoke and pull for sandwiches for Christmas
my best guess right now is to

put rub on both sides Not sure of rub yet (help needed, not spice though)
    roll and tie into log
    let sit over night
    preheat box to 220 for 1 hour
    smoke with mesquite, maple or some of both for 4 hours at 180-190 water in dish
    finish with box temp of 200-210 and IT of 180-185  apples juice and real maple syrup in dish
    FTC for 2-4 hrs  with apple juice and real maple syrup
    pull
   serve with condiment of choice     
   what do you guys think will this work? is there any suggestion anyone has to make? Mild rubs for elk? Times? Temps? Anything?
   thanks

squirtthecat

I wish I could help, but I've never smoked (or seen for that matter) anything like that..

Tender, eh.  Perhaps treat it like Venison?   Much lower final IT?

Brisket Lover

No ideas for elk, but I'll be watching this thread. Take some pictures too if you can.