• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Smoke Flavor

Started by ndsmoker, October 03, 2005, 01:58:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ndsmoker

It takes a man to admit it, but I need help. I've been smoking for about 4 months with my BS, and I've never gotten what I consider to be outstanding smoke flavor. I'm not implying the problem is with the BS, I'm sure its my technique.

There are two times that I get great smoke flavor. One is when I use wood in my Weber grill to add a bit of flavor to a steak or burger.

The second is when I used Alton Brown's (Good Eats - Foodtv.com) technique for pork butt. He makes a smoker from two clay pots, and I actually thought there was TOO much smoke flavor. I've never gotten that from my Bradley.

I'm a bit discouraged, last nights brisket was the final straw to get me to post on it. It was tender, but without the sauce there would've been very little flavor. I find the same with ribs: texture is great, but they lack flavor. No matter how much smoke and rub and baste I use, it just ain't like the Q I got used to when I lived in KC.

Again, I'm not saying this is the smoker's fault but the Smoker's (me) fault. To be honest, I haven't tried any recipes from Old's site or this one, and thats what I plan to do next.

Can anyone recommend some slam dunk recipes? I see so many times "...and let the smoker do the rest..." - I think I need to do something else.

Maybe its just the beginner's stage of things, and I need to get to the next level.......

bsolomon

There are a lot of very good "food detectives" here, but as they say, "we need just the facts."  Give us a complete runthrough of your techniques, incuding your prep/rub/marindade, smoking time/cooking time/temperatures/bisquette selection, follow-up (FTC), and any other details you can think of, and I'm sure we'll get you pointed in the right direction.