• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

New to smoking.

Started by smokin_bob, April 07, 2007, 05:58:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smokin_bob

Hello everyone,

I just got my 1st smoker. I am very new to this. I was wanting to smoke a pork tenderloin and wasn't sure how long to smoke/cook and at what temp.
Any thoughts on this would be great. And if anyone has done it before, how did it turn out?

Thanks,
smokin_bob

owrstrich

welcome smobo...

i smoke them at 200 deg box until they reache 145 internal...

its easy... its fast... its good... do not over cook...

i get the loin that is about 4 or 5 inches round and as long as a bs rack is wide... sometime the really big ones have to be cut in half to fit a rack... you got the idea... do not over cook...

i trim all the fat because the fat seems to get nasty on the loin... then rubb it... i like the dizzy pig swamp rubb but you can put together any mixx of rubb that you want...  do not over cook...

i fridge it for a day or 2 for the rubb to settle in but its not necessary...

i load 4 hours of hickory or smoke of your choice... fill up the water bowl and slide it in... preheat bs to 200... after loading advance a puck on the burner... vent 1/3 open... do not over cook...

slide 1 pound of cheap bacon spread over the next to top rack or 1 pound of cheap pepperoni spread over the next to top rack... your choice... what ever you put up there will drip on the loin to flavor and moisturize... this is not really necessary but i like the extra juice dripping on the lean loin...

slide your loin in 1 rack under the bacon or pepperoni... i smoke at 200 box until the beast reaches 145 internal...

1 rack size loin at room temp in a 200 preheated box may take 4 hours to reach 145 internal... ftc for minimum of 1 hour... a 2 to 4 hour ftc is better... 2 rack size loins wont take much more than 5 hours... do not over cook...