• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Help Making Deer Sausage

Started by Birddog, January 21, 2008, 04:16:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Birddog

I tried a batch of deer sausage this weekend and did not have good results. I followed the recipe and added the cure, seasoning pack to deer meat I groud up with 20% prok fat. I stuffed it in casings and put it in my smoker at 170F until I got an internal temp of 165 as per the recipe. It appears all the pork fat cooked out of the sausage and doesn't have much spices taste to it. Any ideas what happened? Did the seasoning go out with the fat? Why did the fat cook out of it? Ideas?

Mr Walleye

I'm by no means any type of sausage expert. I'm just getting into it but I did just look up deer sausage in the book "Great Sausage Recipes and Meat Curing" by Rytek Kutas. I know everybody considers this book the bible. According most of the recipes they take the IT to 152 degrees. I know from smoking everything else that fat renders around 160 degrees so I would think that taking it to an IT of 165 is probably the problem. Hopefully some others with a little more experience will comment.

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

Habanero Smoker

I agree with Mike. It's best to keep the temperature down to around 152°F. I never made venison sausage, and there may be a reason the recipe calls for an internal temperature of 165°F. I would take the sausage out of the smoker at 152°F and store it in the refrigerator or freezer. If you have concerns treat it as partially cooked sausage and when you are ready to use the sausage cook it until the internal temperature reaches 165°F.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

pensrock