Suggestions for Smoked Easter Turkey

Started by Eagleye, March 24, 2005, 10:49:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eagleye

Hi yall,
I'm a smoking newbie. I just purchased a Bradley Stainless Steel a couple months ago.  So far I've had good results with smoking salmon.[:p]  My hot smoked White Chinook and Coho Indian Candy both turned out quite nice. I tried smoking some pork chops using the recipe in the bradley recipe book.  They came out waay too dry [xx(] eventhough I cooked them at the lowest recommended time. Next time I'll have to check them much sooner.  Anyhow, I want to smoke a turkey for Easter and I was wondering if you guys had any good recipes.  I've already read the collector recipe. It says to use a small turkey 8-10lbs but mine is 15lbs.  If I cook it at 100 C for longer will the turkey still turn out alright?  I'm worried that temp may not be high enough to kill off the samonila.  I was also thinking it may be a good idea to put the turkey in some kind of pan to catch the drippings but I don't know what kind I can use in the Bradley.  I was also thinking of maybe wrapping the turkey in a cheese cloth to lock in some moisture.  What would you guys recommend.  Thanks in advance any help is much appreciated.

Chez Bubba

Eagle,

There are several threads I remember available to address all your questions, just do a search. And welcome to the forum, we hope you'll be kind enough to share your experiences with us. You're gonna love your Bradley.[:)]

Kirk

http://www.chezbubba.com
Ya think next time I check into a hotel & they ask "Smoking or Non?" they would mind?
http://www.brianswish.com
Ya think if next time I check into a hotel & they ask "Smoking or Non", they would mind?

JJC

Hi Eagleye,