• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Pork Butt

Started by Matusel3, September 07, 2012, 09:11:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matusel3

Hi everyone,

I am looking at taking my first adventure into throwing a few pork butts into my Bradley smoker.  I've been looking through the forum and have found a few different posts regarding the methodology but I'm wondering if you guys could either point me to some good topics about it, or help me break down the process/cooking time/recipes for a total newbie.

Thank you for any ideas.

Matt

TedEbear

Hi Matt,

There have been several new threads today on how to smoke a butt.  There are some ideas in this one:  1st Time Smoking a Butt

Some of the recipes in that thread remove them from the smoker at a lower temp than what I usually do.  I cook mine to an IT of 190 before FTC for a few hours and then pulling.  I have a Roman Pork Puller that makes the job quick and easy.

muebe

Hi Matt welcome to a great forum.

First you gotta decide what you want to rub your butt with. There are a plethora of seasonings available and it is really just a personal decision. Many people like to use Jan's rub. The formula for Jan's rub is available in this forum. You can mix a bath yourself and makes for a great butt rub.

Some people like to also use a "glue" on the butt like CYM(cheap yellow mustard) or Molasses. You just rub it on the outside. This helps with a better bark formation. The mustard cannot really be tasted after the butt is done(at least I cannot taste it) but some others claim they can. The Molasses adds a nice sweet flavor and a deep bark. I personally like the Molasses best and use it on my butts.