going to try to smoke some flathead catfish

Started by more smoke, January 06, 2008, 03:36:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

more smoke

next weekend im going to try to smoke some flathead. im new to the art of smoking, i  bought obs and have already done some chicken and a butt & brisket. just thought i would ask if anyone had any tips for flathead (big catfish) and how well should i clean my obs?

Wildcat

Welcome to the forum.

Clean a BS?  :o  :D  Only parts of it my friend.  Door seal area, where the vent slides open and closed, racks, etc.  NEVER the interior cabinet walls.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

more smoke

thanks for the info on cleaning . as for the flathead i did buy some hi mountain gourmet fish brine mix with maple sugar from bass pro says cook to an internal temp of 155 to 160 didn't know if it would be the same in a obs? i would like to try something with lemonpepper as well. thanks for all your help

Gizmo

Good thing you mentioned catfish.  I was thinking if you smoked a flathead, you would be doing grinding, porting, and polishing.   :D

Check out the Kummok Smoked Salmon.  You might find the smoking process to work well on most fish.
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

more smoke

I just put my flathead fish in my brine. I gotta thinking there is't any skin on the fish. Just wondering if the fish will stay together or is going to fall apart like i think it will?

Gizmo

Brine will usually firm fish up a bit.  It should stay together until it gets cooked at which time it will flake apart.
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

Habanero Smoker