Question about mopping

Started by Badger Dave, June 07, 2009, 10:54:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Badger Dave

Hi from Wisconsin.  I'm new to smoking, but even though I live in Wisconsin I cook outside year round.

While I'm still in the learning curve on the Bradley, one thing puzzles me.  Some sources - Bill and Cheryl Jamison in Smoke and Spice, for example - say you should never b aste in a water smoker.  In the (cursory) Bradley recipe book basting is clearly suggested.

Can I mop in this smoker?  Should I? Why?

Thanks for the help.

NePaSmoKer

Yes you can mop in the Bradley. Why? it add's flavor and moisture however you dont always have to mop. Some put butts and briskits in a foil pan and cover with foil (boating)

Oh yeah throw that book out  ;D just funning

nepas

Badger Dave

Thanks for the help.  Your response raised another question: the Bradley Owners Manual says specifically to never use aluminum foil.  It's really OK to do so?

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: Badger Dave on June 07, 2009, 11:25:53 AM
Thanks for the help.  Your response raised another question: the Bradley Owners Manual says specifically to never use aluminum foil.  It's really OK to do so?

What they are meaning is not to foil the racks or v-tray. Doing this will prevent smoke from getting to the food and may cause smoke and moisture to back up into the smoke generator and cause a malfunction. Wrapping your food is ok. Also never close the vent off completely. Always have 1/2 to full open.

nepas

Badger Dave

Hey, thannks again.  I'd never have figured that out from the manual.

Habanero Smoker

As NePas stated you can mop, but each time you open the door it will increase your cooking time. Some members have guesstimated that each time the door is open to mop you can add up to 30 more minutes of cooking time.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Gizmo

Another note not mentioned yet is the Bradley is not really a water smoker.