• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Just bought a new OBS

Started by CadillacKing3, June 15, 2009, 02:34:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CadillacKing3

Hello All!

So I just bought a new OBS on Amazon!

I also bought the 60 pack of assorted wood, 3 bubba pucks, smoke and spice cookbook, and a Maverick ET-7.

I have been grilling since I was 16 years old (now 26) and am tired of slow cooking ribs and other foods on the gas grill.

Hopefully, I will be smoking some ribs and chicken this weekend!

OU812

Welcome to the fun.

Looks like you have been doing your home work, you got everything you need but the meat.

deb415611

Welcome CK3,

Also check out the forum members recipe site - great recipes & faq section.   http://www.susanminor.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=180

Deb

Gizmo

When you read other books about putting smoke on the food for 8 hours or 24 hours, you need to remember that you will only need a max of 4 hours in the Bradley.  The Bradley smoke is very different than the stick burner smoke where food is under constant smoke.  If you look at the link Deb posted, you will see that the recipes call for only 1 to 4 hours of smoke for the most part.
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

CadillacKing3

Thanks for the advice about the time to use smoke. I have tried to read as much as possible about the smoker and I read all the FAQs (which is where I learned about the Bubba Pucks and the probe for temp)

Any advice is gladly accepted!

Gizmo

Best advice to give you now is "Get Started and enjoy".   :)
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

Smokin Soon

CadKing, your off to a proper start, reading before you cook. I'm sure you will enjoy your time here. Welcome!

FLBentRider

W E L C O M E  to the Forum CadillacKing3!
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers