Bst Butts vs Picnic Question

Started by classicrockgriller, September 19, 2009, 12:52:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

classicrockgriller

I cooked two butts last week at 22o and pulled at 186. I FTC for 2 hrs and they fell apart.
Yesterday I smoked 1 picnic same temp, pulled at it of 190 and had to chop it up. very hard to "pull".
I had taken several temp reading before FTC.

The question, Is there a different cook temp for picnic vs butts or what did I do wrong.
After chopping I put in foil and oven at 200 for 3 hrs.

ArnieM

I'm not an expert, so take this with 1/2 cup of Kosher salt.  I think the picnic is the lower part of the front leg and may be a bit tougher with less fat than the butt (upper (shoulder)) part of the front leg.  It might be somewhat drier and take longer to cook than the butt.  But, then, I could never figure out why the shoulder was called the butt in the first place.

I'm getting my butt into the smoker (so to speak) around 8 PM tonight.  I figured on about 16 hours (8.15 pounds) but the forecast is for temps as low as 39 tonight.  Somehow I think I blinked and missed summer.
-- Arnie

Where there's smoke, there's food.

FLBentRider

I've never done a picnic, but others here have and mentioned the same things.

I think that there is less connective tissue to break down and make it tender... ??

Most end up slicing it instead of pulling.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

classicrockgriller

Thanks FLBR, the picnic really don't have the taste the butts do either. It taste good, just not as good as the butts I did.
By the time you lose the fat from the cap and the bigger bone, and the taste difference, I think the butt is a better buy
even at .20 a pound more.

Tenpoint5

With the picnic I would try and cure it then smoke and make bone in ham with it. Here's a couple of fresh hams that I did
Christmas Ham
or