jerky technequices

Started by loejukan, October 22, 2009, 05:27:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

loejukan

how does everyone like to do there jerky? i hear people talking about doing it all in the DBS and some talking about doing half the time in the smoker and finishing the rest in the dehydrator. what are the pros and cons to both of these technique's. I'm new to the smoker part of making jerky but not the dehydrating part. any input would be appreciated.

thanks Joe

classicrockgriller

Hey Joe, What's ya doing with that jerky gun in your hand? (old Jimi Hendrix song)

Welcome to the forum. All the jerk experts will be here shortly.

The small amount of jerky I have done has been in dehydrator, so I am not much help.

But I did want to say Welcome to the forum.

BigJohnT

I do my jerky in my Bradley but it is highly modified LOL. The most difficult part about jerky is not cooking the lower racks near the heater and maintaining the lower temperatures. I see you have a digital so the temperature part should be easy. Just rotate the racks top to bottom and front to back every hour or so to keep the drying process from being a cooking process. Also keep the vent wide open when drying. Here is a link to my favorite jerky recipe.

JT

Quarlow

Yes keep your vent wide open and it has been said in the Bradley recipe book that came with my smoker to not use water it the puck bowl. And what Jt said I can vouch for as I just had a bad happening with my last batch of jerky. Move those racks and don't let the temp get to high. The bradley is a very efficent dehydrator with the added bonus of smoke. My brother does awesome jerky. 10 times better than anything you can buy.
I like to walk threw life on the path of least resistance. But sometimes the path needs a good kick in the ass.

OBS
BBQ
One Big Easy, plus one in a box.

BigJohnT

Thanks brother... did you get some of that jerky I gave Scott?

JT

Quarlow

No I live a little to far north to share but sure looked good.