• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Newbie with lots of questions

Started by Klondikesmoker, November 09, 2009, 02:32:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Klondikesmoker

Hi,

Newbie here with a bunch of questions.  I have been lurking for about a month trying to decide if a smoker is the way to go.  Reading the posts most of my questions have been answered but not all of them.  I see most of you use the smoker like I use my BBQ.  Since reading this site I guess my terminology is not right and what I do is grill.  So this is all NEW to me.

Here is my dilemma.  I live in the Yukon of Canada (next to Alaska).   I would like to use the smoker for preserving wild game meat, sausage, pepperoni sticks, jerky, etc, more than using it for individual meals.  Does the smoker work properly when it is quite cold out?  Will it work properly at sub zero temperatures?  I am concerned the smoker will not get to the proper temperatures when it is quite cold out.  I prefer to use this in the winter as I have lots of spare time as the summers are very busy with fishing, hunting, quading, golfing, sun tanning, beer drinking, canoeing,  etc.

It looks like I will need a PID unit and am hoping there will be one on the market soon that has a second probe for monitoring the IT and shutting the unit down when that is reached.  Sounds like the Auber is the way to go if and when they come out with the improved unit. 

Which smoker should I get?   I was leaning to the 4 rack digital and adding the PID unit. Is the digital smoker overkill if I am getting the PID unit anyways?  Is the original smoker the same except for the digital option?  Is the 4 rack big enuf to do 100-150 lbs of meat over the winter.  How much meat will I be able to smoke per session?  Will the 6 rack do 50% more per session?