• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

stuffer troubles

Started by Fair-chase, November 24, 2009, 09:27:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fair-chase

Mixed up 5 lbs 80/20 venison to pork last night. I used LEM hot stix mix and stuffed into 19 mm collagen cases through a 3/8 tube with my manual 3Lb. stuffer. My 13 year old son and I got it stuffed , but it took both of us riding on the handle to get it through the 3/8 nozzle. I even added a little more than the 5 oz. of water to try and help : didn't seem to.

Do the 5 lb. vertical stuffers have more umph making this less of an issue , or is this the 3/8 nozzle , mix ,etc. ?

marauder11

I have had similar problems. I have added more water to some batches and it seemed to make a little difference. I am not an expert but i would say tube size would be the biggest factor.

lophole

I had the same trouble. I shelled the teeth out of my 5lb stuffer (electric). I ended up putting up to 2 cups of water to 5lb of meat. It gets pretty thin but it works. Remember you are working opposite of a hydraulic cylinder. Big piston pushing through a small hole. Good luck.
lophole

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: Fair-chase on November 24, 2009, 09:27:11 AM
Mixed up 5 lbs 80/20 venison to pork last night. I used LEM hot stix mix and stuffed into 19 mm collagen cases through a 3/8 tube with my manual 3Lb. stuffer. My 13 year old son and I got it stuffed , but it took both of us riding on the handle to get it through the 3/8 nozzle. I even added a little more than the 5 oz. of water to try and help : didn't seem to.

Do the 5 lb. vertical stuffers have more umph making this less of an issue , or is this the 3/8 nozzle , mix ,etc. ?

Its the tube size and the temp of the meat. Next time get the meat to close to room temp, then add the mix to the meat, mix by hand then stuff.

NOTE: If you add your dry to the meat and then let it get to room temp it will be starting to bind together. Thus making it hard to stuff again.