• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

New OBS...couple questions

Started by KCTR, November 25, 2009, 08:37:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KCTR

Well it's my b-day and I did get my OBS from my wife, so I'm pretty happy.  I fired it up and had a couple of questions.  First, what is the max temp that you can normally get your OBS up to empty?  I couldn't get mine much past 250-260 empty and vent wide open.  It shut off periodically too which I thought was a bit abnormal.  Is this abnormal or am I expecting too much for temp?

Also, for my first smoke I don't want to do something too pricey I just want to get a feel for how it works.  I have an arm roast and a round steak in the freezer as well as a small brisket.  I know the brisket is a common smoke, but what about the other 2?  Has anybody ever smoked an arm roast or round steak?  Is it worth my time for a first trial smoke?

Happy thanksgiving to everybody! 

Huntnfreak

I'm new to this too so I can't tell you much about the max temp, but I have learned that you can smoke anything.  I had the same idea of starting with the cheap meat too to get a feel for it.  It doesn't take long to figure it out.  The easiest thing to learn on is pork.  I don't know why, but I haven't screwed up any pork to the point that I can't eat it.  The Bradley is so easy to use that you have to work to screw it up!   

JGW

As long as you can hit 250, I wouldn't worry about it.  Anything worth smoking is normally done in the 200-225 range.   ;D

Not sure what you mean by "shut off".  Is it maintaining the temp?  If so, you should be good to go.

Pork is always a good bet for a first smoke, and (probably in the minority) I think chicken is a pretty easy smoke as well.  Not sure I'd smoke a round steak.  A ribeye sure....cold smoke then grill.