• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Top vent on smoker

Started by highmarkho, February 16, 2010, 03:54:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

highmarkho

I have the Bradley Original 4 tray smoker and still do not really understand the Top Vent.  Do I close it or leave it open?  I have always kept it closed when making my suasages.  The reason I have kept it closed is so I can get it up to temperature better.  I am new to this entire process, any help is appreciated.

thanks

classicrockgriller

I would never close my vent all the way.

Chicken and sausage has lots of moisture that needs to get out of the cabinet.

My vent is always 3/4 to full open.

BigJohnT

I walk on the wild side and close mine almost down to 1/2 sometimes but not any more

JT

OU812

Welcome to the fun highmarkho

Belive it or not your smoker will work better with the vent open, as it lets the moisture out and by doin that it helps the draft, kinda like a wood stove. The moisture will absorb the heat and the smoker will have troubles maintaining heat, by letting the moisture out heat will stay in the smoker and not in the moisture. Also if the moisture builds up it will drip black stuff back on your sausage, which aint good. It could also build up in the smoke generator and cause some major problems with it.

I keep mine wide open.

squirtthecat

My vent is fused about 3/4 open..  (yeah, I need to take it apart and clean it)

BigJohnT

I asked my wife to clean the door gasket once and she took the vent apart and cleaned it and put it all back together... I was impressed with her mechanical skills even if she cleaned the wrong thing  :o

JT

classicrockgriller

Quote from: BigJohnT on February 16, 2010, 04:29:33 PM
I asked my wife to clean the door gasket once and she took the vent apart and cleaned it and put it all back together... I was impressed with her mechanical skills even if she cleaned the wrong thing  :o

JT