OBS Front Control Plate

Started by banditto1969, May 28, 2010, 10:23:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

banditto1969

My OBS was about 8 months old when I noticed the control plate had cracked the feet off.  Not sure how but I called Bradley and they sent me a new lower face plate with controls, etc.   I'm an engineer and I noticed how the design isn't exactly robust... the plastic is thin, half the weight rests on the front cover which is fastened with 5 screws with multiple holes to screw through...  So I use a dolly to move so I don't have to pick it up and shock the feet.

well with my new cover I did one smoke during the winter maybe 2.  The the spring came I did no smokes, and early summer I did a pork butt the other day.  And today I am loading it into the truck to take to the cottage and do 6 chickens for the holiday. and voila'  *** I find the lower front cover has again fractured into 8 pieces.  Keep in mind I only raised it off the ground once to load it onto the dolly.  The dolly is larger than the base and has 4 wheels--thats it. 

So my question is, is it time to cut a new lower front cover out a piece of angle aluminum and be done with it?  It needs to be stronger... $8 for a piece of aluminum and a little machining (which I can do easily) and this won't happen again.

Tenpoint5

I believe you can get another set of back feet and mount them on the front to take the strain off the faceplate. I have the DBS so I have not encountered this problem.
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

TestRocket

I too have ran across the back feet to front feet mod in these forums for that very reason.

classicrockgriller

I took my Smoker to the Deer Camp and it rode in the front seat on a pillow with the seat belt on. ;D

If you can make a face plate that easy, I'll buy one! Serious!

Quarlow