What to do with bottom round roast

Started by EZ Smoker, June 24, 2010, 12:14:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

EZ Smoker

My local Albertsons is running a buy-one-get-one-free sale on choice bottom round roast.    What can ya make out of that?     
It may seem like I'm rubbing salt in the wound, but the truth is I'm trying to cure it.

FLBentRider

You could make this:

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=11005.0

or you could make jerky nuggets, or a host of other things.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

TestRocket

Something good I would bet. I've only really done chicken and ribs so I'm new to this principal of you can smoke anything! So I'll watch and see what others suggest.

Tenpoint5

could always slice it and make jerky out of it as well
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

KevinG

Pot roast comes to mind. Whatever you decide, low and slow is the key to that piece of meat. Keep it moist too.
Rodney Dangerfield got his material from watching me.
Learn to hunt deer www.lulu.com/mediabyKevinG

EZ Smoker

Excellent.  Thank you for the help.   Question:  Is a bottom round roast tender enough that I could cook it to a lower IT in the medium rare range?  or would I need to take it higher?

Also, I've been wanting to try to make jerky (or jerky nuggets), and I've been reading up about the curing process to get prepared.   So if I buy one and get one free, I'll try jerky with one, and cook the other as a roast for slicing. 

Thanks again,

Scott
It may seem like I'm rubbing salt in the wound, but the truth is I'm trying to cure it.

Tenpoint5

Yes you can go M/R and slice into roastbeef sammies
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.