Amount of F-RM-52 for Recipes??

Started by buht-smkr, July 13, 2010, 01:24:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

buht-smkr

I am a little confused about the amount of F-RM-52 that I should be using in the recipe for Pepperoni per Rhulman. In the text he states that you should use a minimum of 1/4 of the package (.25*25grams~7 grams) of how small a batch of meat that you are making but then states that you should use 20grams for a 5lbs recipe. I am missing something?? Could/Should I use less or is this going to effect the flavor due to the reduced (assuming I use less) bacteria present? Also, if I do cut back should there also be a reduction of the dextrose?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Mr Walleye

buhy-smkr

Welcome to the forum. I have never used it before but here is some info that I have found on it.

Here is a link to a good pdf file from Sausage Maker. It describes it fairly well.
http://www.sausagemaker.com/productdocs/Bactoferm_F-RM-52.pdf

Allied Kenco has this description:

Here's their site   http://www.alliedkenco.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/934/products_id/3201

Bactoferm ™ FRM-52 - Lactobacillus Sakei & Staphylococcus Carnosus

For medium fast acidification. This culture causes the meat's ph to drop to under 5.0 in about 4 days. Use for medium sized salamis 1" to 3" dia. A medium fast culture targeted for short fermentation at temperatures 70°F-90°F. Needing around 1 month to fully complete (including drying)

How to use: Dilute with 1 cup of chlorine free water and let sit for 20 minutes to "Wake Up" the bacteria. When using a cure (# 1 or # 2) mix the cure with this culture. Mix all seasoning and spices into meat, then add this culture at a rate of 25 g to 200 lb of meat.

For small batches dilute 1/2 tsp. of culture into 1/2 cup of chlorine free water.

Use 25g for 220 lb.
Meat packet weight: 25g

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

Habanero Smoker

Hi buht-smkr,

Welcome to the forum.