• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Aged beef

Started by HCT, June 25, 2005, 04:15:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HCT

Olds, I was reading your post in the recpe forum. I have a question. Can you age an eye round the same way? Is all you do is leave it in the cryovav for that about of time? 30 days. Just let it lay there, nothing more to do.
Thanks

Mickey

I Share my life with 6 labradors. Who could ask for more?

"The universe is a big place
probably the biggest"

Oldman

Pretty much that is all there is to it. However, temp is important! Not lower than 34 not higher that 38F

Depending upon which "Guru" you listen to the spred is from 7 to 21 days, or 21 to 30 days. Your target should be 21 days and 36F. The reason that sirloin when over 30 days is I just forgot about it. I have a second refrig.

I have never done an eye before. I've never seen them cryo vac before. Every item I age I require the grade stamp on the outside of the cryo vac. This insures me that the item is in its original package from the processor and not a re-vac job.

Now many times when you get to the upper end of the aging process your bag will begin to fill up with liquid. It is important to understand that the more liquid you have the less favor you will have. The more liquid you have the more tender the meat. So IMO it is a balancing act.

As a side note in dry aging of beef you want the liquid to leave the meat. However, it does through evaporation. Thus the flavor intensifies. When a piece is dry aged the average loss to shrinkage and to trim is about 20% of the original weight.

Years ago when I was dry aging meat we would have at any given time 25 pieces hanging. You have to have your temp, air flow and the relative humidity right on the money. If not you got growth/ spoilage.