Keeping temperature up with foil-covered bricks

Started by umbrellalady, December 28, 2010, 07:13:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

umbrellalady

Hi - I am a complete newbie at smoking.  I have always wanted to smoke meats, cheeses, etc and my husband bought me a BDS six rack for Christmas.  I am thrilled but living in Manitoba with our rather cold temperatures has me concerned about temperatures fluctuating too much when I open the door of my smoker.  I read one comment about using foil covered bricks and am wondering - do I put them in the drip pan? Or on one of the racks?  What type of bricks do you use - does it make a difference?

I noticed in one picture that someone put a foil pan on the drip pan - does this affect the heat or smoker negatively?

What type of oil should I oil the racks with?

Sorry for all the questions but sometimes I am a bit of a plank... :-\

GusRobin

I let smeone that uses the bricks answer that. If by drip pan you mean the "v" tray -  I don'tcare what anyone tells you, never put foil on it. That is a grease fire waiting to happen. Always keep it clean and the holes and vent holes on ir clear.

I never oil the racks s I am not sure what you are referring to. You could use Pam on them I guess but soaking them in dish soap water will  usually make them easy to clean.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

Caribou

I use one to two bricks wrapped in foil depending on what I'm smoking and how much room I have.
I only grease racks when I am smoking jerky, everything else seems to provide it's own grease. ;)
Carolyn

Habanero Smoker

Hi umbrellalady;

Welcome to the forum.

I use one brick, that fits next to the water bowl. You can use any of the non-stick cooking sprays, or use a small piece of paper towel soak with canola oil and rub your trays with it, all sides.