• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Smoking Elk Jerky Today, Need Help

Started by Gutpile, December 04, 2005, 04:45:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gutpile

Howdy everyone, I am fairly new to this smoking stuff. I am smoking my jerky today, and I could use a little help. I made some jerky about a week ago with burger and jerky seasoning. I used a jerky gun and made strips. I used the mesquite and smoked for about 3 hours total. One thing I did that I see now I shouldn't have was to put water in the pan. Anyway, the jerky turned out very very smoky tasting. Didn't really care for it too much. I have a batch of whole muscle elk brining right now, and would like some tips on how to do this so I don't wreck this stuff too. I have mesquite, hickory, alder, and special blend. Which should I use? Sorry about the long read, andy advice would be greatly appreciated.

Happiness is a steaming gutpile!!

SMOKEHOUSE ROB

Gutpile welcome to the forum, first thing 3 hours of mesquite WOW [xx(] , use hickory for 2 hours, fill water bowl 1/4 full , pre heat smoker to around 200  or less, let jerky sit out to get to room temp befor putting in. vent open about 1/4 for first 2 hours then wide open and rotate racks often , any cure in brine? if not you are looking at about 6 hours to be done, remember to rotate racks often after 2 hours of smoke and then as small pieces are done first pull out. have fun,

Gutpile

Thanks for the reply, I have the jerky smoking now. I am trying the special blend wood. I was wondering, should I just smoke for about 2 hours, then turn the generator off, and finish off with no smoke? Also, what temp would you smoke at, and should you change the temp later on, or just leave it the same all the time? Thanks.

SMOKEHOUSE ROB

smoke for 2 hours , after smoke leave smoke gen ON, temp at 200 and below the whole time.

Gutpile

So I just leave the generator on with no bisquettes in right?

boxertrio

yes

Glenn