Newbie from Kansas City with a couple of questions..........

Started by 2boxers, December 05, 2011, 01:33:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2boxers

I am new to this game so I have the typical newbie questions. #1 From what I am reading I would be wise to have a backup heating element on hand and possibly a fuse. Can these be purchased from Bradley or is there a better source? #2 While reading about temperature control I noticed that several of you referred to a PID. What is a PID (what is it used for, is it a necessity, if so where do you get it)? #3 I chose a Bradley Digital Smoker because I believed it would be easier (less labor intensive) than a charcoal barrel smoker. Is this assumption correct? Thanks for any help you can give.

viper125

Quote from: 2boxers on December 05, 2011, 01:33:39 PM
I am new to this game so I have the typical newbie questions. #1 From what I am reading I would be wise to have a backup heating element on hand and possibly a fuse. Can these be purchased from Bradley or is there a better source? #2 While reading about temperature control I noticed that several of you referred to a PID. What is a PID (what is it used for, is it a necessity, if so where do you get it)? #3 I chose a Bradley Digital Smoker because I believed it would be easier (less labor intensive) than a charcoal barrel smoker. Is this assumption correct? Thanks for any help you can give.

1. Yes you should have a backup. Also yard and pool sells them,or Bradley.

2. A PID is basically a tempture controller similar to what the digital does. Some have 1 probe some have two. Controls heat better then a digital I hear.  Can also be used with A Digital too. Auber PID sells them.

3.Oh its less labor for sure as long as everything goes right! LOL And welcome aboard. Feel free to ask lots of questions always some one here to answer.
A few pics from smokes....
http://photobucket.com/smokinpics
Inside setup.

beefmann

welcome aboard,